Congenital dislocation of the hip

05.07.2022

The information provided in the article cannot be used to make a diagnosis, prescribe treatment and does not replace the advice of a doctor.

Causes of congenital dislocation of the hip

The main causes that provoke the appearance of congenital dislocations of the hip joints include:

  • underdevelopment of the acetabulum that occurs in early pregnancy. The impact of adverse environmental factors or toxic substances can affect its improper development;
  • hereditary relaxation of the ligamentous-muscular apparatus of the hip joint, which is not able to hold the femoral head in the acetabulum, resulting in its prolapse;
  • limitation of joint movement during fetal development, which often occurs with multiple pregnancies, oligohydramnios, breech presentation of the fetus, large fetus or cramped uterus;
  • birth of a premature baby (before 36 weeks), with low birth weight or as a result of a caesarean section;
  • Anemia during pregnancy – a decrease in hemoglobin in the blood can lead to a delay in fetal development and premature birth.

Classification and symptoms of the disease

According to the International Classification of Diseases ICD 10, congenital hip dislocation is:

  • unilateral (Q65.0) – this pathology most often affects the hip joint of the left leg. Congenital dislocation of the left hip occurs 3 times more often than the right one (in 60% of cases);
  • bilateral (Q65.1) – according to statistics, hip dislocation on both legs is recorded in 20% of cases.

Symptoms of congenital hip dislocation

  • asymmetry of the popliteal, gluteal and inguinal folds, when there is an asymmetrical arrangement, a different number and depth of skin folds on the left and right legs;
  • Leaving one or both legs to the side at an insufficient angle. The legs of a baby with healthy hip joints, bent at a right angle at the knee and hip joints, should be easily spread apart to the stop, forming an angle of 160-180o between the hips. If a noticeable resistance of one of the legs is felt during abduction, this may be a sign of a unilateral dislocation of the hip;
  • shortening of the leg – it can be determined by the different level of positioning of the knee joint, if you bend the legs of a child lying on his back brought together and press them against his stomach;
  • Symptom “click” (Marx-Orlani) – a characteristic click is clearly audible when trying to press the child’s hips to the stomach.

In the absence of proper treatment, in children older than 1 year, additional symptoms appear:

  • limping;
  • “duck” gait (with bilateral dislocation of the hip);
  • distortion of the pelvis due to a violation of the tone of the muscles of the back and buttocks;
  • Incorrect foot placement.

Consequences of congenital dislocation of the hip

In the absence of preventive orthopedic examinations and parents ignoring the first symptoms of hip dislocation in a child, the pathology progresses. The correct arrangement of the TBS components under load is violated. The cartilage and ligaments of the neglected acetabulum of the pelvic bone are replaced by scar tissue, and the femoral head forms a kind of articular cavity in the place of the pelvic bone on which it rests. Such changes affect the entire body of the child, which leads to catastrophic consequences:

  • development of scoliosis, osteochondrosis, impaired posture;
  • pain in the hip joint when walking, which makes it difficult to move freely;
  • a noticeable shortening of the leg, the development of flat feet;
  • appearance of aseptic necrosis of the femoral head;
  • partial or complete contracture – loss of hip joint functionality;
  • development of dysplastic coxarthrosis.

If congenital hip dislocation is not cured in a timely manner, even in childhood, it will be much more difficult to treat this pathology in adults. And most often, this will require a difficult surgical operation of hip arthroplasty.

Diagnosis of congenital hip dislocation

It should be borne in mind that treatment for hip dislocation is considered timely if it is started in the first three months of a child’s life. Therefore, to diagnose this pathology, it is necessary to examine an orthopedist during the first days after the birth of a baby with a mandatory ultrasound scan, which will help determine the relative position of the femoral head and the acetabulum, taking into account the cartilaginous parts. During the examination, the doctor specifies:

  • whether the child has a genetic predisposition to HDS;
  • Were any factors contributing to the development of pathology observed during the course of pregnancy:
    – anemia in the mother;
    -intrauterine infections;
    -breech presentation of the fetus;
    – oligohydramnios;
    -large fruit
    – intrauterine growth retardation.

Repeated orthopedic examination with ultrasound is carried out in the third month of a child’s life.

After 3 months after the birth of a child, radiography can be used to diagnose hip dislocation, but treatment started at this time is already considered belated. If the diagnosis was established earlier with the help of ultrasound, X-ray of the congenital hip dislocation is used to control the course of treatment.

Treatment of congenital dislocation of the hip

Congenital dislocations of the hip joints are treated for quite a long time – from several months to a year. For this, both conservative and surgical methods can be used, depending on whether treatment is started on time or late. The main methods of treatment of hip dislocation:

  • Functional reduction of hip dislocation related to conservative treatment. This method involves gradual, atraumatic reduction of the femoral head using soft Pavlik stirrups or abduction splints. For high hip dislocation in infants, functional rigid casts may be applied. All these orthoses fix the child’s hips in a functionally correct position until the joint is fully reduced and the joint matures;
  • bloodless, closed reduction of dislocation with long-term subsequent fixation of the legs with a plaster coxite bandage at a right angle – the Lorenz method, it is used to treat children 2-5 years old;
  • skeletal traction after reduction of the femoral head into the acetabulum (closed reduction of the dislocation is most commonly used). This method is used for high hip dislocations in children 1.5-8 years old;
  • surgical methods such as:
    – open reduction of dislocation of the femoral head – it is used for children from 1 to 3 years of age in the absence of progress in conservative treatment;
    – open reduction of dislocation with arthroplasty according to the Column method – used to treat children older than 3 years;
    – corrective osteotomy of the pelvis or femur;
    – palliative operations aimed at creating additional support for the femoral head (Schanz operation) or forming a canopy over the femoral head (Kennig operation).

Treatment of congenital dislocation of the hip joints is always complex. It provides not only the use of conservative and surgical methods, but also physiotherapy, massage and physiotherapy exercises.

In the medical center Ladisten Clinic, for the treatment of hip joint dislocation, a minimally invasive author’s surgical method is used with the installation of an external fixation device, developed by Dr. Veklich V.V. The operation is performed for 40 minutes on both joints, without skin incisions, with punctures. Treatment takes 2.5-3 months. If your child has been diagnosed with congenital dislocation of the hip, contact our clinic! You can make an appointment with us by calling the numbers listed on the website.

Symptoms

One of the most common orthopedic pathologies in babies is congenital dislocation of the hip. It is characterized by deformation of the head of the femur and its incorrect location outside the acetabulum. This pathology is the fourth stage of hip dysplasia (HJD). Dislocation of the hip is manifested starting from the first days of a newborn’s life, and at this time the pathology can be diagnosed. It is difficult to confuse it with other manifestations of DTBS, because even with such a severe form of dysplasia, such as subluxation of the hip joint, the head of the femur, although it is located in the wrong position, is still inside the acetabulum. Without treatment, the dislocation of TBS will steadily progress, threatening the complete destruction of the joint.

Make an appointment to get a consultation right now!
(Uk) Можлива online консультація
Doctors

Founder/Chief surgeon

The founder of “Ladisten” medical center of orthopedics and traumatology Veklich Vitaliy Viktorovich is a surgeon in the field of orthopedics and traumatology for children and adults who has been practicing for more than 35 years. Author of the modified external fixation devices – the Veklich devices.

Work experience: 40 years
Head doctor, orthopedic and traumatic surgeon

Head doctor of the Ladisten Clinic Medical Center, a professional certified surgeon in the field of pediatric and adult orthopedics and traumatology.

Work experience: 15 years
Pediatric orthopedic traumatologist

Pediatric orthopedic traumatologist. He specializes in the treatment of diseases such as congenital anomalies in the structure of the limbs, benign tumors of the hand, obstetric paralysis, trauma to blood vessels, nerves and bones of the hand. Attends specialized conferences and symposia annually.

Work experience: 18 years
PREPARATION

In the medical center Ladisten Clinic, for the treatment of hip joint dislocation, a minimally invasive author’s surgical method is used with the installation of an external fixation device, developed by Dr. Veklich V.V. The operation is performed for 40 minutes on both joints, without skin incisions, with punctures.

REHABILITATION

The post-operative period takes 2,5 – 3 months

Врожденный вывих бедра

05.07.2022

Информация, предоставленная в статье, не может быть использована для постановки диагноза, назначения лечения и не заменяет консультацию врача.

Причины врожденного вывиха бедра

К основным причинам, провоцирующим появление врожденных вывихов тазобедренных суставов, можно отнести:

  • недоразвитость вертлужной впадины, возникающую на раннем сроке беременности. Повлиять на ее неправильное развитие может воздействие неблагоприятных экологических факторов или токсичных веществ;
  • наследственную расслабленность связочно-мышечного аппарата ТБС, который не способен удержать головку бедренной кости в вертлужной впадине, в результате чего происходит ее выпадение;
  • ограниченность движений сустава в период внутриутробного развития, что часто случается при многоплодной беременности, маловодии, тазовом предлежании плода, крупном плоде или тесной матке;
  • рождение недоношенного ребенка (до 36 недели), с малым весом или в результате кесарева сечения;
  • анемия при беременности – снижение содержания гемоглобина в крови может привести к задержке развития плода и преждевременным родам.

Классификация и симптоматика заболевания

Согласно Международной классификации болезней МКБ 10, врожденный вывих бедра бывает:

  • односторонним (Q65.0) – такая патология чаще всего затрагивает ТБС левой ноги. Врожденный вывих левого бедра встречается в 3 раза чаще, чем правого (в 60% случаев);
  • двусторонним (Q65.1) – по статистике, вывих бедра на обеих ногах фиксируется в 20% случаев.

Симптомы врожденного вывиха бедра

  • асимметрию подколенных, ягодичных и паховых складок, когда наблюдается несимметричное расположение, разное количество и глубина кожных складок на левой и правой ноге;
  • отведение одной или обеих ног в сторону на недостаточный угол. Ноги малыша со здоровыми ТБС, согнутые под прямым углом в коленных и тазобедренных суставах, должны легко разводиться в стороны до упора, образуя между бедрами угол 160-180о. Если при отведении ощущается заметное сопротивление одной из ног – это может быть признаком одностороннего вывиха бедра;
  • укорочение ноги – его можно определить по разному уровню позиционирования коленного сустава, если согнуть сведенные вместе ноги ребенка, лежащего на спине, и прижать их к его животу;
  • симптом «щелчка» (Маркса-Орлани) – характерный щелчок хорошо слышен при попытке прижать бедра ребенка к животу.

При отсутствии должного лечения, у детей старше 1 года появляются дополнительные симптомы:

  • хромота;
  • «утиная» походка (при двустороннем вывихе бедра);
  • перекос таза из-за нарушения тонуса мышц спины и ягодиц;
  • неправильная постановка стопы.

Последствия врожденного вывиха бедра

При отсутствии профилактических ортопедических осмотров и игнорировании родителями первых симптомов вывиха бедра у ребенка, патология прогрессирует. Нарушается правильное расположение компонентов ТБС под нагрузкой. Хрящи и связки запустевшей вертлужной впадины тазовой кости замещаются рубцовой тканью, а головка бедра формирует подобие суставной впадины в том месте тазовой кости, на которое она опирается. Такие перемены затрагивают весь организм ребенка, что приводит к катастрофическим последствиям:

  • развитию сколиоза, остеохондроза, нарушению осанки;
  • болям в тазобедренном суставе при ходьбе, что затрудняет возможность свободного передвижения;
  • заметному укорочению ноги, развитию плоскостопия;
  • появлению асептического некроза головки бедренной кости;
  • частичной или полной контрактуре – утрате ТБС своих функциональных возможностей;
  • развитию диспластического коксартроза.

Если своевременно, еще в детском возрасте не вылечить врожденный вывих бедра, у взрослых лечить эту патологию будет гораздо сложнее. И чаще всего для этого потребуется непростая хирургическая операция эндопротезирования тазобедренного сустава.

Диагностика врожденного вывиха бедра

Следует учитывать, что лечение при вывихе бедра считается своевременным, если оно начато в первые три месяца жизни ребенка. Поэтому для диагностики этой патологии необходим осмотр ортопеда в течение первых дней после рождения малыша с обязательным проведением УЗИ, которое поможет определить взаимное расположение головки бедренной кости и вертлужной впадины с учетом хрящевых частей. При проведении осмотра врач уточняет:

  • имеется ли у ребенка генетическая предрасположенность к ДТБС;
  • наблюдались ли при протекании беременности факторы, способствующие развитию патологии:
    -анемия у матери;
    -внутриутробные инфекции;
    -тазовое предлежание плода;
    -маловодие;
    -крупный плод;
    -задержка внутриутробного развития.

Повторный ортопедический осмотр с проведением УЗИ проводится на третьем месяце жизни ребенка.

По истечении 3 месяцев после рождения ребенка, для диагностики вывиха ТБС может использоваться рентгенография, но лечение, начатое в это время, уже считается запоздалым. Если же диагноз был установлен ранее с помощью УЗИ, рентген врожденного вывиха бедра применяют для контроля хода лечения.

Лечение врожденного вывиха бедра

Врожденные вывихи тазобедренных суставов лечатся довольно длительное время – от нескольких месяцев до года. Для этого могут использоваться, как консервативные, так и хирургические методы, в зависимости от того, начато лечение вовремя, или с опозданием. Основные методы лечения вывиха бедра:

  • функциональное вправление вывиха бедра, относящееся к консервативному лечению. Этот метод предусматривает постепенное, атравматичное вправление головки бедренной кости с помощью мягких стремян Павлика или отводящих шин. При высоком вывихе бедра у младенцев могут накладываться функциональные жесткие гипсовые повязки. Все эти ортезы фиксируют бедра ребенка в функционально правильном положении до полного вправления и созревания сустава;
  • бескровное, закрытое вправление вывиха с длительной последующей фиксацией ног гипсовой кокситной повязкой под прямым углом – метод Лоренца, он применяется для лечения детей 2-5 лет;
  • скелетное вытяжение после вправления головки бедра в вертлужную впадину (чаще всего применяют закрытое вправление вывиха). Этот метод используется при высоких вывихах бедра у детей 1,5-8 лет;
  • хирургические методы такие, как:
    -открытое вправление вывиха головки бедренной кости – оно применяется для детей от 1 года до 3 лет при отсутствии прогресса в консервативном лечении;
    -открытое вправление вывиха с артропластикой по методу Колонна – применяется для лечения детей старше 3 лет;
    -корригирующая остеотомия таза или бедренной кости;
    -паллиативные операции, направленные на создание дополнительного упора головки бедренной кости (операция Шанца) или образование навеса над головкой бедра (операция по Кеннигу).

Лечение врожденного вывиха тазобедренных суставов всегда комплексное. Оно предусматривает не только применение консервативных и хирургических методов, но и физиотерапию, массаж и лечебную физкультуру.

В медицинском центре Ladisten Clinic для лечения вывиха ТБС применяется малоинвазивный авторский хирургический метод с установкой аппарата внешней фиксации, разработанный доктором Веклич В. В. Операция выполняется 40 минут на обеих суставах, без разрезов кожи, с проколов. Лечение занимает 2,5-3 месяца. Если у вашего ребенка диагностировали врожденный вывих бедра — обращайтесь в нашу клинику! Записаться к нам на прием можно по телефонам, указанным на сайте.

Симптомы

Одна из наиболее часто встречающихся у младенцев ортопедических патологий — врожденный вывих бедра. Он характеризуется деформированием головки бедренной кости и неправильным ее расположением, вне вертлужной впадины. Эта патология является четвертой стадией дисплазии тазобедренного сустава (ДТБС). Вывих бедра проявляется, начиная с первых дней жизни новорожденного, и в это время патологию можно диагностировать. Ее трудно спутать с другими проявлениями ДТБС, ведь даже при такой тяжелой форме дисплазии, как подвыв тазобедренного сустава, головка бедра, хоть и располагается в неправильном положении, все же находится внутри вертлужной впадины. Без лечения вывих ТБС будет неуклонно прогрессировать, что чревато полным разрушением сустава.

Запишитесь на консультацию прямо сейчас!
(Uk) Можлива online консультація
ВРАЧИ

Основатель / Главный хирург

Основатель медицинского центра ортопедии и травматологии «Ладистен» Веклич Виталий Викторович — хирург в области ортопедии и травматологии для детей и взрослых практикующий более 35 лет. Автор модифицированных аппаратов внешней фиксации - аппарат Веклича.

Опыт: 40 лет
Главный врач/Ортопед-травматолог

Главный врач Медицинского Центра "Ладистен Клиник", профессиональный дипломированный хирург, в области детской и взрослой ортопедии и травматологии.

Опыт: 15 лет
Детский ортопед-травматолог

Детский ортопед-травматолог. Специализируется на лечении таких заболеваний как врожденные аномалии строения конечностей, доброкачественные опухоли, кисты, акушерский паралич, травмы сосудов, нервов и костей кисти. Ежегодно посещает профильные конференции и симпозиумы

Опыт: 18 лет
ПОДГОТОВКА

В медицинском центре Ladisten Clinic для лечения вывиха ТБС применяется малоинвазивный авторский хирургический метод с установкой аппарата внешней фиксации, разработанный доктором Веклич В. В. Операция выполняется 40 минут на обеих суставах, без разрезов кожи, с проколов.

РЕАБИЛИТАЦИЯ

Лечение занимает 2,5-3 месяца.