Operation

Height increase operation in case of achondroplasia

Height increase operation in case of achondroplasia

BECOME HEALTHY TODAY

Make an appointment to get a consultation right now!

Description of the disease

Achondroplasia is a congenital disease of musculoskeletal system of a generalized nature, accompanied by disproportionality of the body and stunting (the shortness of height may reach 30-40 centimeters compared to normal height).

If your child has a similar diagnosis, don’t be discouraged Thanks to the rapid development of medicine and the advent of innovative technologies, it is quite possible to correct the pathology with help of surgical treatment and use of special devices.

Surgical operations aimed to increase height in case of achondroplasia work best if started at the age of 6-7 years. In childhood, surgery is usually well tolerated and is almost not accompanied by complications, and the body quickly adapts to changes.

Height increase operation at Ladisten Clinic

  • minimally invasive – allows to minimize traumatizing of the body and avoid bleeding;
  • good cosmetic effect – doesn’t leave large scars;
  • quick rehabilitation – after 2-3 weeks the patient can return to normal lifestyle;
  • high performance – in 98% of cases it is possible to get good and excellent results.

The peculiarities of treatment according to the method of Vitaliy Veklich

In the treatment of the effects of achondroplasia, doctors of Ladisten clinic use Veklich patented devices, which are an improved version of Ilizarov device. Their impact is based on the method of limb lengthening developed by Ilizarov and improved by Veklich. The construction allows to keep to the basic principle that the clinic staff is guided by – “do no harm”. Thanks to the minimally traumatic operation with stretching the limbs with help of the device, it is possible to achieve the maximum possible result and prevent serious complications.

After using Ilizarov device, noticeable scars were left from surgical incisions and from a large number of spokes. The wounds also were healing for a long time and often became infected, which, in turn, led to pain, emergence of muscle contracture and development of osteomyelitis. Now these problems can be avoided.

The principles of treatment of achondroplasia according to the methodics of Dr. Veklich

  • bloodlessness and rapidity during installation;
  • lack of noticeable scars;
  • light weight and hemispherical shape (in contrast to the classic triangular), which helps to minimize discomfort when wearing;
  • hypoallergenicity – the absence of allergic reactions;
  • the ability to bear large body weight of patients;
  • minimum number of spokes that may injure soft tissues;
  • quick removal;
  • high treatment effectiveness.

The doctors of the clinic specify the construction of the device individually for each patient, with the characteristics of the diagnosis, age, body proportions and height peculiarities being taken into account.

Stages of treatment of achondroplasia at Ladisten clinic

If you only lower limbs are lengthened, then the disproportionality of the body increases. Therefore, simultaneously with the legs and hips, the shoulder segment should be also lengthened.

At Ladisten Clinic, the increase of height in case of dwarfism is performed in 6 stages which are divided in two.

At the age of 4-6 years, the first 3 stages are carried out:

  • at the first stage, the anticnemions are lengthened by 6 centimeters;
  • at the second stage, the hips are lengthened by 7-8 centimeters;
  • at the third stage, the shoulders are lengthened by 5 centimeters.

At 14-15 years, the following 3 stages begin:

  • at the fourth stage, the anticnemions are lengthened by 6 centimeters;
  • at the fifth stage, the hips are lengthened by 6-7 centimeters;
  • at the sixth stage lengthen the shoulders by 5 centimeters.

The duration of each stage is 5-6 months. Between them a 2-3-month break is made.

How is the operation of height increase in case of achondroplasia is carried out

The anesthetic is chosen for each patient individually, taking into account the characteristics of the body.

The surgeon cuts a bone through a small hole (1-2 mm), after which he fixes bone fragments using an external fixation device.

The duration of the operation on both limbs is 1 hour 20 minutes.

The process of limb lengthening

The limbs are lengthened by distraction, that is, bone stretching. The lengthening begins 10 days after surgery. During one day, the length of the limb increases by a millimeter. Accordingly, the duration of the procedure will depend on how much the bone needs to be lengthened. Usually the process takes 50-70 days. Every 3-6 weeks, X-rays are taken to monitor the effectiveness of the correction.

Consolidation

When the expected limb length is reached, the distraction process is stopped and transferred to consolidation – bone knitting. The duration of this stage depends on the rate of the lengthening and regenerative abilities of the patient’s body. It is approximately 2 times longer than the stage of bone stretching.

Removal of the device

Before removing the device, a test is made. To do this, fixation of the corrective device is weakened and the patient is able to walk for 2-3 hours. Then an X-ray photograph is taken, on the basis of the results of which the attending doctor makes a decision on the removal of the device. The procedure takes no more than 10-20 minutes, and after that the patient can return home or stay in the clinic for rehabilitation.

During rehabilitation, it is necessary to gradually increase the load on the legs and do therapeutic exercises to strengthen the muscles.

Sometimes our little patients and their parents get together

To make an appointment, you can call the numbers:

 +38 (044) 209 80 54
 +38 (067) 794 46 86
write a message
 WhatsApp
 Viber

We will help to choose a convenient time for you to give us a visit or hold an online consultation during which we will examine your problem and answer all questions.

THE OPERATION IS NEEDED

Achondroplasia (dwarfism)

The operation is aimed at eliminating deformities and lengthening the limb, which helps to increase height and reduce disproportions between the body and the limbs. As a result, the functional capabilities of a person and the quality of his or her life increase.

Doctors

Founder/Chief surgeon

Veklich Vitaliy Viktorovich

The founder of “Ladisten” medical center of orthopedics and traumatology Veklich Vitaliy Viktorovich is a surgeon in the field of orthopedics and traumatology for children and adults who has been practicing for more than 35 years. Author of the modified external fixation devices – the Veklich devices.

Work experience: 40 years
Head doctor, orthopedic and traumatic surgeon

Veklich Viktoria

Head doctor of the Ladisten Clinic Medical Center, a professional certified surgeon in the field of pediatric and adult orthopedics and traumatology.

Work experience: 6 years
Anesthesiologist

Oleg Medvedev

Doctor of Medicine, anesthesiologist

Work experience: 27 years

PREPARATION

How is the treatment prescribed?

To assess the state of the patient’s bone tissue, an X-ray is taken. After receiving the results of diagnostic tests, the doctor chooses a treatment plan and gives a consultation. He answers the questions of the patient (or his/her parents, if the treatment is carried out for the child), voices the price, tells about the predicted results and possible complications, agrees on the date of the surgical procedure. It is advisable to arrive at the medical center 2-3 days before the appointed date of the operation, which allows the patient to take all needed tests, prepare psychologically, and consult with the anesthesiologist.

REHABILITATION

Final treatment results

As a result of the treatment, it is possible to lengthen the hips by 13-15, the anticnemions by 12, and the shoulders by 10 centimeters, increasing the overall height by 25-27 centimeters. If the average height of small people is 125-130 cm, after all operations it can reach 150-160 cm. The patient acquires normal physiological capabilities. It becomes possible to him or her to reach the handrails or to look through the spy hole of the door. Further degradation of other organs stops, the psycho-emotional state is comfortable and complexes disappear.

Операция

Операция по увеличению роста при ахондроплазии

Операция по увеличению роста при ахондроплазии

Станьте здоровыми уже сегодня!

Запишитесь на консультацию прямо сейчас!

Описание болезни

Ахондроплазия – врожденное заболевание опорно-двигательной системы генерализированного характера, сопровождающееся диспропорциональностью тела и низкорослостью (отставание в росте – 30-40 сантиметров). 

Если вашему ребенку поставили подобный диагноз, не отчаивайтесь. Благодаря стремительному развитию медицины и появлению инновационных технологий вполне возможно откорректировать патологию при помощи хирургического лечения и применения специальных аппаратов.

Операции по увеличению роста при ахондроплазии лучше всего начинать в 6-7-лет. В детском возрасте оперативное вмешательство протекает относительно легко и почти не сопровождается осложнениями, а организм быстрее приспосабливается к изменениям.

Операция по увеличению роста в Ladisten Clinic

  • малоинвазивность – позволяет свести к минимуму травмирование организма и избежать кровотечений;
  • хороший косметический эффект – не оставляет больших шрамов;
  • быстрая реабилитация – уже через 2-3 недели можно возвратиться к обычному образу жизни;
  • высокая результативность – в 98% случаев удается получить хорошие и отличные итоги.

Особенности лечения по методике Виталия Веклича

В лечении последствий ахондроплазии врачи клиники Ладистен используют запатентованные аппараты Веклича, которые являются усовершенствованной версией аппарата Илизарова. Их действие основано на разработанной Илизаровым и улучшенной Векличем методике удлинения конечностей. Конструкция позволяет соблюсти основной принцип, на который ориентируется персонал клиники – «не навреди». Благодаря минимально-травматичной операции с вытягиваем конечностей на аппарате, удается достичь максимально возможного результата и предотвратить серьезные осложнения.

При использовании аппарата Илизарова оставались заметные шрамы от операционных разрезов и от большого числа спиц, которые к тому же долго заживали и нередко инфицировались, что приводило к болезненности, возникновению мышечной контрактуры и развитию остеомиелита. Теперь этих проблем удается избежать.

Принципы лечения ахондроплазии по методике Веклича

  • бескровность и оперативность при установке;
  • отсутствие заметных шрамов;
  • небольшой вес и полусферическая форма (в отличие от классической треугольной), что позволяет свести к минимуму дискомфорт при ношении;
  • гипоаллергенность – отсутствие аллергических реакций;
  • возможность выдерживать большую массу тела пациентов;
  • минимальное количество спиц, способных травмировать мягкие ткани;
  • быстрое снятие;
  • высокая эффективность лечения.

Врачи клиники подбирают каждому пациенту аппарат индивидуально, учитывая диагноз и возраст, пропорции тела и особенности роста.

Этапы лечения ахондроплазии в клинике Ладистен

Если удлинять только нижние конечности, то диспропорциональность тела увеличивается. Поэтому одновременно с голенями и бедрами удлиняют и плечевой сегмент.

В клинике Ладистен увеличение роста при карликовости осуществляется в 6 этапов за два раза.

В возрасте 4-6 лет проводят первые 3 этапа:

  • на первом этапе удлиняют голени на 6 сантиметров;
  • на втором этапе удлиняют бедра на 7-8 сантиметров;
  • на третьем этапе удлиняют плечи на 5 сантиметров.

В 14 — 15 лет приступают к следующим 3 этапам:

  • на четвертом этапе удлиняют голени на 6 сантиметров;
  • на пятом этапе удлиняют бедра на 6-7 сантиметров;
  • на шестом этапе удлиняют плечи на 5 сантиметров.

Длительность каждого этапа – 5-6 месяцев. Между ними делают 2-3-месячный перерыв.

Как проходит операция по увеличению роста при ахондроплазии

Анестетик подбирают для каждого пациента индивидуально, учитывая особенности организма.

Хирург через небольшое отверстие (1-2 мм) рассекает кость, после чего фиксирует костные отломки при помощи аппарата внешней фиксации.

Длительность операции на обеих конечностях – 1 час 20 минут.

Процесс удлинения конечностей

Конечности удлиняют путем дистракции – вытягивания. К удлинению приступают через 10 дней после операции. За сутки длина конечности увеличивается на миллиметр. Соответственно, длительность процедуры будут зависеть от того, на сколько нужно удлинить кость. Обычно процесс занимает 50-70 дней. Каждые 3-6 недель делают рентгеновские снимки, чтобы проконтролировать результативность проводимой коррекции.

Консолидация

Когда достигается ожидаемая длина конечности, то процесс дистракции останавливают и переходят к консолидации – сращиванию кости. Длительность этого этапа зависит от величины удлинения и регенеративных способностей организма пациента. Она приблизительно в 2 раза продолжительнее, чем вытяжение.

Снятие аппарата

Перед тем, как снимать аппарат, делают пробу. Для этого ослабляют фиксацию корректирующего устройства и советуют пациенту в течение 2-3 часов походить. Затем делают рентгенографию, на основании результатов которой лечащий врач принимает решение о снятии аппарата. Процедура занимает не более 10-20 минут, после чего пациент может возвратиться домой либо остаться в клинике, чтобы пройти реабилитацию.

Во время реабилитации необходимо постепенно увеличивать нагрузки на ноги и проводить лечебную гимнастику для укрепления мускулатуры.

Иногда наши маленькие пациенты и их родители собираются вместе

Для записи на консультацию, позвоните нам по телефонам:

 +38 (044) 209 80 54
 +38 (067) 794 46 86
или
 Написать В WHATSAPP
 Написать В VIBER

Мы подберем для Вас удобное время посещения клиники или online-консультации.

НУЖНА ОПЕРАЦИЯ

Ахондроплазия (карликовость)

Операция направлена на устранение деформаций и удлинение конечности, что способствует увеличению роста и уменьшению диспропорций между туловищем и конечностями. В результате возрастают функциональные возможности человека и качество его жизни.

ВРАЧИ

Основатель / Главный хирург

Веклич Виталий Викторович

Основатель медицинского центра ортопедии и травматологии «Ладистен» Веклич Виталий Викторович — хирург в области ортопедии и травматологии для детей и взрослых практикующий более 35 лет. Автор модифицированных аппаратов внешней фиксации - аппарат Веклича.

Опыт: 40 лет
Главный врач/Ортопед-травматолог

Веклич Виктория Витальевна

Главный врач Медицинского Центра "Ладистен Клиник", профессиональный дипломированный хирург, в области детской и взрослой ортопедии и травматологии.

Опыт: 6 лет
Врач анестезиолог.

Медведев Олег Анатольевич

Доктор медицины, врач анестезиолог.

Опыт: 27 лет

ПОДГОТОВКА

Как назначается лечение

Чтобы оценить состояние костной ткани пациента, делают рентген. После получения результатов диагностики врач подбирает план лечения и проводит консультацию. Он отвечает на вопросы пациента (или его родителей, если лечение проводится ребенку), озвучивает стоимость, рассказывает о прогнозируемых результатах и возможных осложнениях, согласовывает дату хирургического вмешательства. Желательно прибыть в медицинский центр за 2-3 дня до назначенной даты операции, что позволит подготовиться – сдать анализы, настроиться психологически, проконсультироваться с анестезиологом.

РЕАБИЛИТАЦИЯ

Окончательный результат лечения

В результате лечения удается удлинить бедра на 13-15, голени на 12, а плечи – на 10 сантиметров, увеличив общий рост на 25-27 сантиметров. Если средний рост маленьких людей 125-130 см, после всех операций он может достичь отметки 150-160 см. Пациент приобретает нормальные физеологические возможности. Можно дотянуться до поручня, посмотреть в глазок двери, дальнейшая деградация других органов останавливается, комфортное психоэмоциональное состояние, избавление от комплексов.