Varus deformity (bow legs): symptoms, diagnostics, treatment

Straight legs are the dream of every girl and the standard for men. Unfortunately, nature doesn’t give beauty to everyone; splay knees are a quite common defect. A lot of people live with this successfully, they don’t worry and don’t consider this a disadvantage. Self-confidence is a great quality. But the doctors claim that varus deformity (bow legs) can strike a blow to the health of the whole organism, not just one’s self-esteem.

The modern clinic of cosmetic orthopedics and traumatology Ladisten has successfully coped with genu varum deformity by treating patients from 36 countries all over the world, and continues to help people.

Varus deformity (the pathology of bow legs): general information

If a person is standing straight, normally both legs should touch each other. There are three main points: knees, feet and lower legs. They should close up forming three spaces. This situation is considered normal. If the feet touch each other and the knees not, we are talking about genu varum. Such position of the legs is referred to as splay knees. Sometimes, the pathology is slightly noticeable as the angle of deflection is small. This does not cause aesthetic problems but can affect health.

Causes of the pathology

Varus deformity (the pathology of bow legs) is a consequence of such factors:

  • genetic predisposition. In some cases, splay knees are given to a person from his or her parents;
  • early walking. Parents are always happy if the child begins to walk early. Unfortunately, this can lead to defects because the musculoskeletal system is still weak, it doesn’t bear the load and the knee joints are deformed;
  • excess weight. All the same load on the joints;
  • injuries and diseases of the spine.

Symptoms

The symptoms of varus deformity The first sign of genu varum is that the knees go apart from each other, turning to the sides. If the deflection angle is large, varus deformity (the pathology of bow legs) has a number of consequences and affects health:

  • leg pains appear;
  • it’s hard for a person to walk. The greater the deflection, the more difficult it is to move;
  • legs swell regularly;
  • there is a fault in posture, scoliosis occurs.

As a rule, the defect of bow legs manifests itself before the age of 4 years. Up to that moment, it is considered to be normal as the skeleton of the child continues to develop and the deformity can disappear with time. It is worth paying attention if:

  • the child began to walk quickly;
  • he or she gets tired a few minutes after movement;
  • the child goes from leg to foot, like a bear cub;
  • the knees go apart from each other and turn to the sides, which is visible visually.

So far, the situation requires only observation and prevention. Correction surgery is not prescribed for children under 7 years of age if the pathology is not congenital.

How to identify it

Diagnostics of varus deformity

The first diagnostics take place during a personal visit to the orthopedist. The signs of genu varum are visible to the naked eye, it is enough to bring your legs together and stand straight. But the pathology may turn out to be false, so an X-ray is done, then the degree of deflection and the internal position of the bones are assessed. Additionally, a footprint is made and, using special calculations, the degree of load on the joints and the possibility of further development of the defect are determined. Only after a full examination the doctor can confirm the diagnosis of varus deformity (bow legs).

Is it possible to live with it?

As with any pathology, you can live with splay knees

If the degree of deflection is insignificant, it causes only psychological discomfort and may not show any consequences for life. Only with age a person notices changes. It becomes difficult to walk, arthrosis develops.

What the future holds

Significant degree of varus deformity (bow legs) is a real problem. Leaving aside the moments of beauty and psychology, genu varum reduces physical ability, causes regular fatigue and influences the entire musculoskeletal system, affecting the ligaments and muscles. They weaken and stretch – as a result, there is no passion in one’s life anymore.

Preventive measures

Exercise therapy, special training complex

Can help to combat varus deformity on early stages

Orthopedic shoes

Shoes that cover not only the foot, but also the lower legs. In practice, they have several disadvantages in terms of convenience and aesthetics.

Special correction devices

This method is in fact a way of conservative treatment.

Walkers

An additional measure to prevent the development of varus deformity in toddlers and young children. If the child began to walk early, they support his or her musculoskeletal system, distributing the load on the joints.

BECOME HEALTHY TODAY

Make an appointment to get a consultation right now!

Doctors

Our doctors use unique methods of treatment introduced by Veklich V.V.

Founder/Chief surgeon

Veklich Vitaliy Viktorovich

The founder of “Ladisten” medical center of orthopedics and traumatology Veklich Vitaliy Viktorovich is a surgeon in the field of orthopedics and traumatology for children and adults who has been practicing for more than 35 years. Author of the modified external fixation devices – the Veklich devices.

Work experience: 40 years
Anesthesiologist

Oleg Medvedev

Doctor of Medicine, anesthesiologist

Work experience: 27 years
Head doctor, orthopedic and traumatic surgeon

Veklich Viktoria

Head doctor of the Ladisten Clinic Medical Center, a professional certified surgeon in the field of pediatric and adult orthopedics and traumatology.

Work experience: 6 years

PREPARATION

If there is a suspicion that varus deformity shows itself (even with the knees slightly turned to the sides), you should consult a doctor. The diagnosis of varus deformity of the legs (O-shaped deformity) raises the question of surgical operation. How is the preparation carried out:

  1. Step one. Booking an appointment to get a consultation. This can be done by phone or online.
  2. Step two. X-ray study and additional examinations. Diagnosis according to the results.

The degree of pathology is determined, the possibility of surgical treatment is specified and an individual treatment plan is prepared.

REHABILITATION

The post-operative period takes 2,5 – 3 months

Within 3 weeks after the operation, the patient begins to walk more and more intensively, the fixation device acquires a stable position. Crutches and walkers are no longer needed. After 2.5-3 months, the bones are grown completely. Varus deformity (the pathology of bow legs) completely disappears. Doctors remove the device, at the place of incisions there are minimal scars – up to 5 mm.

RESULTS

Our patients have become healthy, beautiful and full of energy with Ladisten Clinic

Testimonials

Vitaliy Viktorovich, I want to express an infinity of “thank yous” to you! I would like to thank you as a doctor - for your gifted hands, for your experience, for an excellent result. I also want to thank you as a person - for kindness, for understanding, for responsiveness, for sincerity, for uniqueness... I will never forget you and will always be grateful to you. Thanks to the best doctor, to the best team, to the best clinic!

Margarita

Kiev

Варусная деформация ног: симптомы, диагностика, лечение

Стройные ноги — мечта каждой девушки и эталон для мужчин. К сожалению, природа дарит красоту не всем, «ноги колесом» встречаются довольно часто. Множество людей успешно живет ними, не переживает и не считает их недостатком. Уверенность в себе — это прекрасное качество. Но врачи утверждают: варусная деформация ног (О-образная деформация) может нанести удар по здоровью всего организма, а не только по самооценке.

Современная клиника ортопедии и травматологии Ладистен успешно справилась с genu varum у пациентов из 36 стран мира, и продолжает помогать людям.

Варусная патология ног (О-образная деформация): общие сведения

Если человек стоит прямо, в норме его ноги должны прикасаться друг к другу. Отправными считаются три точки: колени, стопы и голени. При этом, получается три промежутка. Такое положение считается нормой. Если стопы соприкасаются, а коленки нет, речь идет о genu varum. Ноги приобретают «колесообразное» положение. Иногда, патология заметна незначительно, угол отклонения маленький, это не доставляет эстетических проблем, но может отразиться на здоровье.

Причины возникновения

Варусная патология ног (О-образная деформация) является следствием таких факторов:

  • генетическая предрасположенность. В ряде случаев ноги буквой «О» предаются от родителей;
  • ранняя ходьба. Родители всегда радуются, если ребенок начинает ходить рано. К сожалению, это может привести к дефектам, ведь опорно-двигательный аппарат еще слабый, не выдерживает нагрузку и коленные суставы деформируются;
  • лишний вес. Все та же нагрузка на суставы;
  • травмы и заболевания позвоночника.

Симптомы

Симптомы варусной деформации

Первый признак genu varum – расхождение коленей в стороны. Если угол отклонения большой, варусная деформация ног (О-образная деформация)  несет за собой ряд последствий и влияет на здоровье:

  • появляются боли в ногах;
  • человеку трудно ходить. Чем больше отклонение, тем сложнее;
  • ноги регулярно отекают;
  • нарушается осанка, возникает сколиоз.

Как правило, О-образные ноги проявляются в возрасте до 4 лет. Пока это считается нормой, скелет ребенка продолжает развиваться, деформация может уйти со временем. Стоит обратить внимание, если:

  • ребенок быстро начал ходить;
  • малыш устает через несколько минут после движения;
  • ребенок переваливается с ноги на ногу, как медвежонок;
  • коленки сильно расходятся в сторону, что видно визуально.

Пока ситуация требует только наблюдения и профилактики. Операции по коррекции детям до 7 лет не назначают, если патология не врожденная.

Как определить

Диагностика варусной деформации

Первая диагностика проходит в ходе личного визита к ортопеду. Признаки genu varum видны невооруженным глазом, достаточно свести ноги и стать прямо. Но патология может оказаться ложной, поэтому делают рентген, оценивают градус отклонения и внутреннее положение костей. Дополнительно делают отпечаток стопы и с помощью специальных расчетов определяют степень нагрузки на суставы, возможность дальнейшего развития дефекта. Только после полного обследования врач может поставить диагноз «варусная деформация ног (О-образная деформация)».

Можно ли с этим жить?

Как и с любой патологией, с колесообразными ногами можно жить

Если степень отклонения незначительна, она причиняет лишь психологический дискомфорт, может не проявлять никаких последствий всю жизнь. Лишь с возрастом, человек замечает изменения. Становится трудно ходить, развивается артроз.

Что грозит в будущем

Значительная варусная патология ног (О-образная деформация) - настоящая проблема. Если упустить моменты красоты и психологии, genu varum снижает трудоспособность, вызывает регулярную усталость, влияет полностью на весь опорно-двигательный аппарат, затрагивая связки и мышцы. Они ослабевают, растягиваются, жизнь теряет краски.

Профилактика

ЛФК. Специальные упражнения

Могут помочь в борьбе с варусом на ранних стадиях.

Ортопедическая обувь

Обувь которая охватывает не только стопу, но и голени. На практике она имеет ряд недостатков с точки зрения удобства и эстетики.

Специальные корректирующие приспособления

Этот способ практически выступает консервативным лечением.

Ходунки

Дополнительная мера профилактики варуса у детей раннего возраста. Если ребенок рано начал ходить, они поддерживают его опорно-двигательный аппарат, распределяя нагрузку на суставы.

Станьте здоровыми уже сегодня!

Запишитесь на консультацию прямо сейчас!

ВРАЧИ

Наши врачи применяют уникальные методики лечения Веклича В.В.

Основатель / Главный хирург

Веклич Виталий Викторович

Основатель медицинского центра ортопедии и травматологии «Ладистен» Веклич Виталий Викторович — хирург в области ортопедии и травматологии для детей и взрослых практикующий более 35 лет. Автор модифицированных аппаратов внешней фиксации - аппарат Веклича.

Опыт: 40 лет
Врач анестезиолог.

Медведев Олег Анатольевич

Доктор медицины, врач анестезиолог.

Опыт: 27 лет
Главный врач/Ортопед-травматолог

Веклич Виктория Витальевна

Главный врач Медицинского Центра "Ладистен Клиник", профессиональный дипломированный хирург, в области детской и взрослой ортопедии и травматологии.

Опыт: 6 лет

ПОДГОТОВКА

Если есть подозрение, что проявляется варусная деформация (даже незначительное расхождение коленей в стороны), нужно проконсультироваться с врачом. Диагноз варусная деформация ног (О-образная деформация) ставит вопрос об оперативном вмешательстве.

Как проходит подготовка:

  1. Шаг первый. Запись на консультацию. Это можно сделать по телефону или в онлайн-форме.
  2. Шаг второй. Рентгенография и дополнительные обследования. Диагноз по результатам.

Определяется степень патологии, возможность оперативного вмешательства, составляется индивидуальный план лечения.

РЕАБИЛИТАЦИЯ

Лечение после операции 2,5 - 3 месяца

В течении 3 недель после операции пациент расхаживается, аппарат приобретает стабильное положение. Костыли и ходунки уже не нужны. Через 2,5-3 месяца происходит полное сращивание кости. Варусная деформация ног (О-образная деформация) полностью уходит. Врачи снимают аппарат, на месте разрезов остаются минимальные шрамы – до 5 мм.

Отзывы

Виталий Викторович, бесконечное Вам спасибо! Спасибо, как врачу – за золотейшие руки, за опытность, за отличный результат. Спасибо, как человеку – за доброту, за понимание, за отзывчивость, за душевность, за уникальность… Я никогда Вас не забуду и буду всегда Вам благодарна. Спасибо лучшему врачу, лучшему коллективу, лучшей клинике!

Маргарита, Киев

(En) Kiev